The Big Easy

Happy Monday!

I had every single intention of posting this weekend but ya know… oops.

Anyways, I hope you all had a great weekend! Mine was so much fun. If you did not know, I was in New Orleans for the weekend with Parker. We both love going there (we want to live there) and it was such a nice little escape and fun change of scenery.

Since I never remember to take pictures, I will just fill you in with a little recap and show you as many pics as possible 😉

Kate and I got in late Thursday night and went straight to bed. We are like two little peas in a pod and could not wait to get some much needed rest.

Friday morning we woke up and walked to Cafe Du Monde. I know I am a freak, but ya’ll, I do NOT like beignets. However, the coffee there is like heaven in a cup so I made sure to order a Cafe Au Lait right up.

How cute and hilarious!!

The rest of the morning we just walked around and I got in a quick 30 minute interval run/incline walk workout before getting ready for the day. Parker came around noon and we went straight to The Gumbo Shop, his favorite place to eat in the world (which is saying a lot because we LOVE to eat).I ordered a cup of seafood gumbo and had a loaf  side of warm french bread and butta. For my meal, I ordered a shrimp salad and it was delicious!

After lunch we just walked around Bourbon and ended up sitting at The Beach for a little while for their 3 for 1 special 🙂 I wish I could say I am a really fun day drinker, but I am not at all. I try really, really hard haha but I could not even finish a whole beer. Oh well!

That night Parker and I went to eat at The Red Fish Grille. It was so good and was a really fun atmosphere. Like I said, we loovveee to eat and try new places and we had heard really great things about this place. We started with some kind of creamy crawfish bread and ceaser salad and then for my entree I stuck with something simple, honey dijon chicken and asparagus (unpictured UGH). Uhm, little did I know (this NEVER happens to me) my meal stole the show. Parker was super impressed and naturally ate over 1/2 of it. But it really was amazing!

The next morning we slept in and met some of his friends for breakfast at a little place attached to the hotel called Luke. It was a cute atmosphere and our food was pretty good.I stuck with egg whites, multi grain toast and fruit! I knew I had a long day ahead of me so I wanted to eat a fairly healthy breakfast and did a 20 interval min run at the hotel (does anyone else HATE hotel gyms??) before getting ready for the day!

We went to lunch at Felix’s and I had the best grilled shrimp po-boy I have ever had in my life and ate all half of P’s order of fries.

The rest of the day was spent going to different bars on Bourbon! It was such a fun day!

We came back and got ready for the formal that night and went to eat at Tomas Bistro because it was really close to where the formal was. I am not going to lie, I was not impressed at all with the food and everyone else agreed. It was a very nice resturaunt and the atmosphere was awesome but the service and the food did not do it for me. Oh well, at least our bottle of wine was amazing 😉

We danced our little hearts out at the formal and had a blast. One of the cutest girls in the world, Meredith Sledge, got Sweetheart of Sigma Chi and I could not be happier for her! Her boyfriend is one of P’s best friends and we literally just adore being around them and hanging out with them!! They are the cutest couple EVER!

After the formal we had every intention of going back out after. We came back to change and I fell asleep oops!!! I am such a grandma and can not hang- sorry P!

It seriously was one of the best weekends of my life and I never wanted it to end!

****

Sorry this post was so long but I just wanted to fill yall in on everything. BUT- this is not everything! Stay tuned for the BEST part of this weekend coming tonight….!!

I am definitely exhausted today and ate my FAIR share of comfort food to cure my stomach and head ache yesterday and need to get back on track ASAP.

I am planning on going to sweat my little heart out at Bikram after class. I am sure it will be a rough class, but much needed.

Have a great day!! See you later today for some fun news!

2 thoughts on “The Big Easy

  1. The beignets were the best at Cafe Du Monde. I was in New Orleans for school once, and we seriously went to Cafe Du Monde every morning! Haha 😛

Leave a Reply

