WIAW: {Cooking my own meals}

Hey friends!

It is time for a WIAW! It has been a while since I did one and as usual, I am going to share some recent eats with you all 🙂

As I told you last week, since I am living in DC for the summer and want to have plenty of “playing money,” I am trying to eat all of my meals at home and pack lunch for work so that I have more money to spend.

I am also thinking about possibly adding a new recipe page, would anyone be interested? None of my meals are like crazy complicated or over the top. In fact, they all take only about 20 minutes but I have people ask me how to make stuff all the time so I think I may start sharing stuff with you guys! Let me know what you think.

Without further adieu… What I ate the past few days!

*As always, thanks for hosting Jenn!

Weekend:

I know in my last post I showed you all my tasty sushi dinner, fro yo and my GREEN pancakes I was so crazy proud of. After my pancakes digested, I went for the COOLEST run!! I can not think of many things that make me happier than going on a really great run. I started out by the waterfront in Georgetown and decided to follow (creepy, right?) the other multiple bikers/ runners I saw and found this really cool running path that is on the water and leads you to the National Mall. Not only was it a beautiful, breezy run by the water… there is nothing like running through the monuments in DC! (Dad… I am doing so many historical things… see!!) Next time I will bring my camera for you all to see what I am talking about. I am thinking this is going to be an every weekend tradition for the rest of the summer.

After my run I went to Trader Joe’s to stock up on some fresh produce while I was there. Gosh, I love this grocery store SO much. I stocked up on so many great things (and some impromptu buys… I should never shop hungry) all for about $50. Not too shabby…

I got to work on lunch as soon as I got home! TJ’s mini wheat pita turkey roll up + side of TJ’s barbeque pop chips + strawberries. Then Nyla and I went to shop around a little bit and I got these shorts from H&M! Love them.

Saturday eats

Saturday night I had FULLY planned to go out and was even ready… but it got to be about 11:00 and I just was not feeling it. I had to be at work early Sunday and I really did not want to be exhausted and not able to focus, so I just decided to call it a night! LAME… oh well. BUT I did manage to snap a few selfies of myself to send to P. Gosh, he is so lucky 😉

How lucky is Parker?!!!!!

Sunday morning I woke up bright and early and went into work! The attire is a little more casual on the weeks as you see. I had the same cereal combo you have all seen 100 times… so I did not take a picture. I packed a lunch for work, turkey sandwich on my new TJ’s bread  + a few cocoa roasted and regular almonds to snack on + half a banana.

Sunday!

I love this stuff!!

When I left work I was so hungry I thought I was going to DIE (okay, maybe that is a slight exaggeration). Luckily I had really fun dinner plans with my sweet friend Sarah (she is a producer at the TODAY show here) and her husband! I met Sarah before I started my internship, and she is honestly just one of the greatest people. They are such an adorable couple. I did not want to be rude (or maybe just weird them out) by snapping pictures of my delicious homemade meal… so I will just tell ya about it real quick. Homemade guacamole for an appetizer (she says the secret is goat cheese… you HAVE to try this… it was so creamy and so good!) + turkey burgers + grilled corn and butternut squash + salad + the biggest bowl of ice cream ever for dessert. It was SO yummy and I left feeling stuffed to the brim and thankful for their sweet friendship!!

Monday:

Monday morning started off with some more green pancakes and then I was off to work! 🙂 Yesterday was such a fun day. For lunch I packed two mini wheat pita turkey roll ups (turkey + brocoli slaw + spinach + mustard) + homemade kale chips + TJ’s barbeque pop chips + two squares of unpictured dark chocolate.

While I was walking home from work, I was feeling a little chipper about the day and decided to pop in J Crew to see if the top I wanted had gone on sale. IT DID!!! I also snagged a few more things on sale….on sale Dad!

When I got home from work, I went to the gym and did a great little cardio + strength workout and came home to fix a delicious dinner. Salmon + whole wheat pasta with 1/2 laughing cow wedge + spinach + broiled tomatoes sprinkled with mozarella cheese.

For dessert I had a mini TJ’s mint chocolate ice cream sandwich but I was really craving some cookies. A warm, doughy cookie. And I really needed to get rid of a ripe banana so I just came up with something in my head and make these cookies. They were actually pretty “cakey” tasting but totally satisfied my sweet tooth. I had two straight out of the oven, warm just like I like them. I am saving the others for tonight! I had to keep eating the dough to “make sure” I had it just right… actually let’s be real… it was SO good I could not stop eating it.

In the mix: A very ripe banana + 2 tbsp Chocolate PB2 + 1 tsp cocoa powder + 1 tbsp Chia Seeds + some honey and sugar free maple syrup + a few (okay, a lot) of handfuls of semi sweet chocolate chips. I popped the dough in the freezer for 30 minutes  to harden then stuck them in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350. Pretty healthy right? How perfect is that coffee mug? P says it describes my life… I am not quite sure how to take that so I guess I will take it as a compliment?!

Tuesday:

I woke up starvin marvin!!!!!! My growling stomach actually woke me up. I have no idea why… it’s not like my body is lacking in the food department. When I looked out the window and saw the dreary weather, I immediately wanted something warm and comforting. French toast it was! This is such a good breakfast and only took about 5 minutes to make. I first spread some of my new favorite almond butter on two slices of my new favorite bread (okay, I am being dramatic) and made a little sandwich. I dipped the two outside sides in some egg whites + splash of almond milk and then got to cooking my french toast in a skillet!

Tuesday work day (with and without the rain jacket)!

For lunch I made a huge grilled chicken salad. Brocoli slaw + edamame + a chopped up apple into little tiny pieces + a sprinkle of moz cheese + a little dressing + grilled chicken. This was such a great combination of flavor. I will definitely be making this again. It was a very refreshing summer meal. A little later I snacked on greek yogurt + blueberries.

After work I went straight to a yoga class, came home starving (imagine that) and threw together a veggie burger topped with moz cheese + roasted sweet potatoes + spinach + tomato. Delicious summer meal… apparently yesterday I was all about the summer eats!

For desert I had a hard time getting the cookies to peel off of the aluminum so I ripped them off, threw them in a bowl, heated them up, added a TJ’s mini ice cream cookie and had a nice little cake in a bowl. It was actually really tasty 🙂

I hope you enjoyed all of my eats!! I am off to make breakfast and head into work today… it’s going to be a great one.

Have a happy Wednesday filled with yummy eats!!!!!

6 thoughts on “WIAW: {Cooking my own meals}

Leave a Reply

