WIAW: {Spoonfuls of Almond Butta}

Hey friends!

Before I forget, I added a new Fashion page. Now look… this is NOT a fashion blog. BUT, I do love clothes (even though you will find me in my Nikes + lululemon + no makeup 3/4 of the time) and since I have to dress up a little for my internship I thought it would be kinda fun. I will let you know when it is updated every once in a while.

Time again for another WIAW. Today I am sticking to just yesterday’s eats because lately I have had several questions about what exactly I eat on a daily basis. Well friends, I have to tell you this changes every day because every day I crave different things. Today all I wanted was summery feeling foods and chocolate. Tomorrow I will probably want entirely different things.

But, let’s get right to today’s eats! Thanks Jenn for hosting this as always!!

Breakfast:

Green Pancakes. Or as P calls them, Grinch Pancakes. Topped with about a smidge of Justin’s Honey PB + banana + sugar free syrup. YES, I know sugar free syrup is not great for you and has a ton of additives, but I don’t really care. I use so much syrup so I stick to sugar free.

This breakfast is so satisfying. I honestly could eat these all day every day. PLEASE make them!! If you follow me on Instagram, you for sure have had to see these 72817212129 times. (Follow me: lovemintchipamp … you get all kinds of odd pictures from me and some sneak peeks of recipes)

Lunch:

Turkey Sandwich + a pitiful side of TJ’s barbeque pop chips (that was all that was left in the bag) + a side of apple and carrots.

Oh, and dessert. Duh.

Afternoon Snack:

So I spent most of the day shooting something outside with one of the producers. We had a blast but it was 1 gazillion degrees outside. We walked almost a mile there, shot for about an hour and by the time we were done, needed a refreshing snack. I forgot to snap a pic but I had a mocha light frappe with soy milk. Yum!

Dinner (2 recipes!!):

When I came home I was ravenous. Shocking, I know 😉 Oh, and it is the new thing to eat so much you have to use 2 extra large plates. Portion control at it’s finest.

Plate 1: Roasted some sweet potatoes (Jordan, so happy you love them so much!!) with a mound of mustard + ketchup.

Plate 2: Sauteed Balsamic Chicken Strips + side spinach, feta, strawberry with balsamic (best summer combo!) + side of sauteed kale and broccoli slaw. I clearly could not decide on a vegetable.

***

Roasted Sweet Potato Fries

1 sweet potato (or more if for multiple people)

Salt and pepper + any other favorite seasoning

Olive Oil Cooking Spray

1. I have found that the easiest way for me to slice a sweet potato is to first microwave it for 2-3 minutes so it gets a little mushy (not too mushy!!) and it easier to slice.

2.Then slice it up however you like. Wedges, circles, strips, whatever floats your boat.

3.Line a baking pan with aluminum and spray with olive oil.
4.Place sweet potatoes on pan and spray again, season, toss everything together.
5.Bake at 400-450 for about 20-25 minutes (depending on if you like them mushy or crispy).

Okay we need to have a serious chat. I am not judging other people’s eating habits at all but I really do not understand how some people eat “1/2 a sweet potato.” The darn things are so good I could have roasted 3 more and eaten them in one sitting. Rant over.

***

Sauteed Balsamic Chicken Strips

As many chicken tenders as you want

Salt + Pepper

Balsamic Vinegar + Worchestire Sauce

Sprinkle balsamic and worchestire over chicken. Season with salt and pepper. Cook in skillet on medium heat.

Sauteed Kale + Broccoli Slaw

Broccoli Slaw

Kale

Salt, pepper, olive oil spray.

I threw this in the skillet as the chicken was finishing up. Seasoned with a little salt + pepper and sprayed with olive oil so it did not burn. Let it cook until it wilted.

Feta + Strawberry + Balsamic Spinach Salad

Fresh strawberries

Sprinkle of feta cheese

Spinach leaves

Favorite balsamic vinaigrette or just balsamic vinegar

Slice up strawberries. Top onto a bed of spinach. Sprinkle feta cheese and drizzle on your dressing!

***

Dessert:

This is where the fun begins!!

Spoonfuls (I lost count, no really I did) of almond butter with chocolate chips. I LOVE this almond butter. I do not know what I am going to do without Trader Joe’s in my life. Probably something weird like order it on the internet. It’s fine.

Tip: Accidentally drop chocolate chips into the jar. You obviously have to get them out in giant spoonfuls.

More almond butter = more happy Anne.

THEN I wanted ice cream. I am usually not this snacky at night but you know what? I am not going to lie and act like I am a perfect eater. I was craving some desserts, so I ate them 🙂 3 TJ’s mini ice cream sandwiches.

And now I am sitting here eating PB + AB (sometimes I can’t decide what I want so naturally I mix them) and drinking a big cup of coffee!!

I am about to finish getting a few last minute things together before I head to Jacksonville, FL until Sunday for a Kappa Convention. I know it will be fun when I get there but I am kinda already having withdrawels and I have not left yet 😦 … this is not good friends. I am falling more in love with this place every day (even though I wish my P + my fam + my bffs were here).

I have some recipes and other posts planned for you while I am away. So make sure to check back in throughout the week!

Happy Wednesday!

Happy Wednesday!

13 thoughts on “WIAW: {Spoonfuls of Almond Butta}

  1. Anne! It’s Whitney from Summer Staff 2 yrs ago. I stumbled upon your blog and LOVE it 🙂 I want to try all of your recipes haha. I can’t believe you’re in DC! I live so close to DC – visit all the time 🙂 Hope you enjoy your summer internship!!

  2. I found your blog through clare’s post yesterday and i just LOVE it! i’m reading from the beginning and the pictures from your february trip to nola are making me a little homesick. i can’t wait to keep reading! xoxo

  3. Anne! It’s Whitney from summer staff 2 yrs ago. I just stumbled upon your blog and LOVE IT! 🙂 I want to try all of your recipes! I can’t believe your in DC!! I love super close to there!! Hope you’re enjoying every bit of it!!!!!

  4. Thanks for the kale slaw recipe! My garden is full of it and I’m getting tired of steamed kale over and over:) also those sweet potato fries look delicious! Try them with that almond butter-that’s my new favorite!

  5. Pingback: Recent Recipes | Love Mint Chocolate Chip

Leave a Reply

