WIAW: {My Plan of Action}

Hey friends!

It is one of my favorite days of the week because it is WIAW!

This is a little bit heavier of a post than usual… but I wanted to share a few things with you guys because I think so many times with a healthy living blog your efforts get mistaken. You guys need to know that I do not always feel peachy. I do not always eat perfect or workout every day. There are days when I feel down and eat twenty million scoops of mint chocolate chip ice cream too much chocolate.

You may remember that one of my points in my MIMM on Monday was getting back to feeling like myself. I want to elaborate on this a bit for you because I am constantly getting asked about my food habits, daily eats, why I do certain things, eat certain things, etc.

So, I thought what better way  than to incorporate it into WIAW?!

Do any of you guys ever just feel kinda bleh? Well, right now I just am not really feeling so great. Not that I usually think I am the cutest thing ever, but I usually just feel a lot better about myself mentally. I have tried to narrow this down and pinpoint why I am feeling this way so I can bust out of this rut!!

For the past few weeks since I got home in May and then moved to DC, I have been taking it really easy on the workout front. When I was in school I was working out really hard 6 days a week but honestly I think I was over doing it and my body felt really over-trained. I had all the symptoms of over training (moody, exhaustion, legs feel like led, etc.) I did not mean to do this but I have such a type A personality I tend to overdo EVERYTHING which many times is not good. Many times I find myself comparing my workouts, etc. to other bloggers and I think I need to be pushing just as hard. The truth of the matter is that (1) I am not a natural athlete and (2) I really enjoy low intensity workouts like yoga, walking, etc. and (3) My body is just not built to go 90 to nothing every single workout. The second I got home after a long conversation with P, I knew I needed to chillllll and listen to my body. And my body needed REST.

As a result of this, over the past 6 weeks I have really been focusing on doing what I am in the mood to do instead of going balls to the walls with crazy intense workouts 6 days a week. With that said, I have given my body plenty of time to recover and it is time to get my butt back in gear (without over-doing it this time). Not only that, with my internship I have been sitting most of the day at a desk. Barely working out, sitting all day, extra meals out, excessive treats and snacking, etc. has left my pants not feeling so cute. I am sure no one else can tell so this is not about physical reasons, it is just about how I am feeling mentally.

I know what I need to do and instead of wallowing in self pity any longer, I am taking a plan of action! I am sick of  feeling bloated, sluggish, tired and just plain gross. Even though right now I feel bleh, I am glad to know that my usual healthy habits really are worth it because I can not imagine feeling this way all the time. The Kappa convention kind of topped it all off for me. It was an “eat what you can when they serve it” and I left feeling worse than when I got there. Because I genuinely LIKE healthier foods better and tend to reach for less processed, cleaner food options, when I do have a few weeks of over indulging I just do not feel like myself.

Sunday morning I woke up with a plan to get back to feeling like myself.

What will this plan look like?

1. Clean Eating. Diet, SCHMIET. Yeah right and no thank you. This has nothing to do with losing weight. And I don’t think diets work for anyone, especially not for your girl foodie queen over here. I am just going to stick to my regular clean eats. I do pretty well most of the time (I am sure some of you are rolling your eyes because yes the majority of my meals are REALLY healthy) but what you do not see is all the spoonfuls of nut butter, chocolate snacks and fro yo and….. okay you get the picture. I do not “deny” myself any foods and I do not intend to start. Nothing is really off limits to me because if I place something off limits then I will just end up craving that one food for weeks. I do not ever intend to “cut” things out like carbs, sugar, etc. because I know that is just not a realistic lifestyle.

2. Move more. Walk an extra 1-2 miles a day at least 3 days a week in addition to my workouts. Not anything crazy, can be just a slow leisurely walk but like I said, I am sitting on my rear most of the day whereas during the school year I am running around constantly. I might have to get up 20 minutes earlier or do an after dinner walk, but I really think this will make a difference in how I feel.

3. Workout at least 5 days a week. This is not really ever a problem for me because I work out 4-6 days a week anyway, I just want to continue to be consistent. And because I want to prevent going into a state of “over-training” I think for now I am going to stick to what I have been doing… a combination of low intensity and high intensity workouts depending on how my body feels that day. Ever body (literally BODY) is different. What may be really hard for me, may be really easy for you. But I know my limits and I need to start pushing them again without over doing it.

4. Get enough sleep. Some nights I sleep 10 hours and some nights I sleep 4-5. Crazy. I need to get on a regular sleep pattern.

5. Drink enough water. Generally I’m really good at this but some days are better than others. I am just going to continue to be conscious of this.

6. Do things everyday that make me happy and make me feel good. Reading blogs while eating breakfast and drinking coffee for at least 30 minutes every morning gets my day starting on the right foot. Unwinding with some chocolate and hot green tea every night while watching a show. Having a quiet time once a day. Talking to my family and friends and spending time with new ones. Going to happy hour ;). Taking a new workout class. Trying new recipes. Getting a manicure and pedicure. Window shopping (because that is all I can afford) in Georgetown.

7. Eat well during the week so I can fully enjoy myself on the weekends. This weekend I am going with my family to Chicago and you better freaking believe I am going to eat whatever I want. I love to eat. I love to eat a lot. So, this week I am going to ensure I load up on clean eats so I can be the ultimate foodie that I am and enjoy every second of my weekend. This goes for any weekend because I really do not want to have to worry about this when I am trying to have a good time.  I love a good glass of wine. And I love a margarita or two or three or four and I do not really drink during the week, so you better believe my plan of action does not include the absence of a few beverages. I mean who actually wants to remember a weekend in Chicago (or anywhere for that matter) where you were constantly worrying about whether you were eating healthy or not or whether you could drink or not? Life is too short my friends.

8. Have a desert every day. Now, you may not agree with me on this and that is totally your deal, but I love desert. I love my chocolate. This may be a skinny cow in place of a giant cup of fro yo, or one square of dark chocolate instead of five, but this girl is not going to stop eating desert.

9. Do what I know I need to.  I usually follow by the 80/20 rule (80% healthy and 20% not) however lately it has been more like the 60/40 rule (ugh!). I know what I need to work on and do better in, and I just need to do it!

10. Listen to my body. I only have one and the one I have got is not meant to be a bean pole so I do not want you guys to think that is why I am taking action. I know I am curvy and that is just how I am built. This honestly has nothing to do with losing weight (by the way- I do not weigh myself, ever.) I do not ever count calories. I just need to eat when I am hungry, stop when I am full. I simply want to feel better.

What am I NOT going to do?

I am not going to obsess over this new little plan of action. I am not going to beat myself up. I am just going to do the best I can. I think so many time as girls we  feel we HAVE to “run off that piece of cake” or “not eat the day after an overindulging week” which makes me sad 😦 No one is perfect and we all eat too much sometimes. All we can do is recognize this, not make a habit of it and move forward!

I wanted to share my plan of action with you guys to help hold me accountable! Hold me accountable to my clean eats AND do not let me obsess over this. Now that I have put this out in the world, I have to go forth with it. In a few weeks, I will do a little recap to see how I am feeling.

So… here is my WIAW of getting back to feeling like myself and my usual routine. My usual routine is what works for me. I eat 3 meals a day + little snacks in between if I am hungry, and you know I.ALWAYS.eat.dessert.

{The theme for WIAW is “healthy snacking.” If you have been reading for a while, you may have noticed I am not a big snacker. Sometimes if I eat breakfast really early I will snack before lunch but I usually just have an afternoon snack. I am more of a big meal kinda person!}

These are my past two meals from Monday and Tuesday when I decided on this plan of action (you will notice nothing really looks all that different!!):

Breakfast:

Monday morning: 2 Van’s waffles with blueberries + half a banana + Justins honey PB + sugar free syrup

Tuesday morning: Sprouted wheat berry toast + strawberry jelly + chia seeds, egg whites + spinach, half banana + blueberries + strawberries.

Lunch:

Monday: Refreshing Summer Turkey Salad + side of Kashi crackers.

{This meal kept me full for HOURS but kinda upset my tummy 😦 Big salads tend to do that to me if I eat them at lunchtime… not sure why.}

Tuesday: Salmon Roll Ups + side of pop chips

Snacks:

Monday: When I came home from work I had a handful of almonds and a few grapes.

Tuesday: grapes + banana + greek yogurt

Dinner:

Monday: Roasted salmon + roasted broccoli slaw + roasted sweet potatoes

Tuesday: My Protein Packed Quinoa “Fried Rice”

{This time I made it with chicken and no egg whites or edamame because I was not in the mood for eggs!}

Dessert:

Monday AND Tuesday: Mint Chocolate Skinny Cow. Maybe not the best and I know it has a ton of additives but it sure beats what I COULD have eaten… 80/20 rule here friends.

{I know I need a manicure}

What I did for my workout:

Monday:  Jillian yoga meltdown + abs

{I was going to walk before work Monday BUT P and I talked until 1 am so I decided to sleep extra!}

Tuesday: A new cardio kickbox class with my cute roomie Liz + walked an extra 1.35 miles

***Does anyone want to join me on this plan of action?!!!!! If so, shoot me an email OR comment on here and stay tuned for a recap so that we can all encourage each other!

I will be doing a recipe recap at the end of this week so stay tuned 🙂 Hope you guys have a great Wednesday and that it is filled with clean, yummy eats but make sure to allow yourself room for treats!

25 thoughts on “WIAW: {My Plan of Action}

  1. Sounds like a really balanced and reasonable approach 🙂 You just gave me some awesome insight into how to tackle eating in NYC. Love you and happy Wednesday!

  2. I feel “bleh” now. Thanks for this post! I have got to start getting my act together.God gave me my healthy body now I need to start taking care of it! It’s the only one I am ever going to have.

    I also saw you moved to DC! I am visiting there for a week in August. If you have any suggestions on what I can do let me know! I am going with a friend but she will be at a conference for most of the time and I will be on my own. So I am looking for fun things to do and see!

  3. I love your plan! I try to do what you plan to do too but sometimes I’m too hard on myself and scold myself for eating badly just once. I’m a teenager! I need to live life and stop freaking out over eating badly occasionally and missing a workout. This was inspirational! Thanksss

  4. I’m so on the same page (except the workout thing, because I don’t have a gym and I can’t run/don’t have a bike/don’t really have workout options). But I’ve just been overindulging and overeating way pat fullness and don’t feel great. It’s time to listen to my body and give it some respect!

  5. Great post and tips on how to resolve what you’re going through! I too am at a desk job and although it’s fitness-related, I feel my energy levels dropping come 3pm. I have much more respect for people who have been doing a desk job for years now! Hang in there, you’ll find what works for you 🙂

  6. i love your plan of action! i could definitely work with you on a few of these – especially drinking more water! i need to really get on this, but for some reason this one is really hard for me to do. and i agree – diets are so last year! it is all about eating clean, whole foods.

  7. Pingback: Recent Recipes | Love Mint Chocolate Chip

  8. I’m just catching up here, but want you to know that I am 110% behind you!! Thanks for being so honest, and for speaking from the heart. I can identify with many of the feelings you described, and know how challenging it can be to find that right “balance.” It sounds like you have a fantastic plan laid out though; I KNOW you can do this!! If you ever need support, shoot me an email! Or even better, let’s grab Sweetgreen! xoxo ❤

  9. love love love this post!!! it is so encouraging and is a great message for all of us to be reminded of! hope everything is going well for you! love you and hope you’re having a wonderful 4th!

  10. Pingback: 4th of July Fun + LoveMintChip Skinny Margs | Love Mint Chocolate Chip

  11. Pingback: MIMM: {Loads of Fun} | Love Mint Chocolate Chip

Leave a Reply

