Recent Recipes

I really love you guys SO much! I can not thank you enough for all of the comments/ emails/ facebook messages. etc. from Wednesday. I am so inspired by so many of you and it never hurts to know that I have other people feeling the same way. So far My Plan of Action is going great!!

As promised, here are some recent recipes from this week. Like always, these are simple, clean and typically feed one very hungry girl! If you ever have any questions about recipes… feel free to contact me!

***

Roasted Salmon with Broccoli Slaw

{This is a really refreshing summer dinner for those nights when you are not starving and want something light}

What you need:

3-6 oz Salmon

1-2 cups Brocoli Slaw

Salt, Pepper and Garlic Powder

Olive Oil Spray

How to:

1. Preheat oven on broil

2. Spray your salmon and brocoli slaw with olive oil spray then season.

3. Broil salmon on high for about 7 minutes.

4. Add your broccoli slaw and cook for another 5-7 minutes.

5. Place broccoli slaw on top of your plate, plop your salmon on top of that-EAT!

LoveMintChip Tip:

*Serve with a side of roasted sweet potatoes!

*Cook for as long as your feel comfortable, it really depends on how “fishy” you like your fish to taste.

***

Salmon Roll Ups

{These are absolutely perfect for leftover salmon to pack for a quick, yummy lunch!}

What you need:

3 oz salmon

Mozarella Cheese

Spinach

Salt and Pepper

Whole Wheat Pitas

 How to:

1. I first shredded my leftover salmon from the night before.

2. Then I topped my wheat pita with spinach, cheese and the salmon and rolled it up.

3. When you are ready to eat them,  microwave the salmon roll ups for 30 seconds allowing enough time for the cheese to get melty and the pitas warm.

 LoveMintChip Tips:

*I will use mustard or honey mustard  next time.. Think that would have made them perfect!

*Serve with a side of pop chips for some extra low-cal crunch!

***

Shrimp and Mushroom Goat Cheese Pasta

{I was inspired to make this combination by WhitFit}

What you need:

1/2 cup whole wheat penne

Regular sized shrimp (however many you please?!)

A few dallops of goat cheese

Green Peas, Broccoli and Mushrooms

(I never put measurements on veggies… I mean come on, they are veggies)

Salt, Pepper and Garlic Powder

A few tsp of olive oil (again, use as much or as little as you please)

Parmesan cheese to sprinkle on top

How to:

1.Thaw (if frozen) and marinate your shrimp in 1/2 tsp of olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Place in fridge, the longer you marinate, the more the flavor.

2. Cook your pasta according to instructions on the package.

3. While your pasta is cooking, steam broccoli and peas in the microwave (or on the stove, doesn’t matter). Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

4. Pour 1 tsp of olive oil in a skillet and sautee mushrooms. Sprinkle salt, pepper and garlic powder for flavor. After a few minutes when mushrooms are soft, place shrimp in the skillet and spray olive oil on everything to prevent from burning. (Shrimp cooks pretty fast!)

5. When pasta is done, drain and then put it back in the pot with broccoli and peas on low heat to keep everything nice and warm.

6. Once your shrimp and mushrooms are done, put everything together  in the skillet and put a few dallops of goat cheese and 1 tsp of olive oil on top of everything. (I do not like a lot of cheese because it upsets my tummy, and goat cheese has such a strong flavor so you really do not need much!)

7. Let the cheese get nice and melty, add some more salt, pepper and garlic powder if you want and stir everything around until you think it is ready! I stirred mine for about 2 minutes because I am real anal about everything being mixed perfectly!

8. Place on a plate and sprinkle parmesean cheese on everything! EAT!

LoveMintChip Tip:

*Okay this meal was one of my favorites. It is really simple but FULL of flavor, protein, whole grains, veggies and healthy fats.Very satisfying but not overly filling (AKA I still had plenty of room for desert….)

*This can easily be made ahead of time. I actually made the pasta, peas and broccoli ahead of time so I could whip up the shrimp and mushrooms in no time! Then I heated the pasta mix up in the microwave before putting everything in the skillet (starting with step 6).

***

Guilt-Free Chicken Sausage and Mushroom Pizza

{This meal will satisfy and kick any salty pizza craving you have to the curb}

What you need:

1 Large whole wheat pita (I used a FlatOut.. you can get at Target!)

1 chicken sausage link

Mushrooms

Far free Marinara Pizza Sause

Parmesan, Goat and Mozarella Cheese (just a little of each!)

Couple of slices of tomato (I like mine very thin)

A couple of handfuls of spinach

A handful of broccoli slaw

Salt, pepper, garlic powder

Olive Oil Spray

How to:

1. Prepare all your ingredients! This gigantic thing has so much good stuff in it, so it is easiest to lay it all out in front of you.

2. Spray your skillet with olive oil and sautee your mushrooms (sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic podwer and then spray again). Once your mushrooms are fairly soft, add in your chicken sausage and cook on medium/ low.

3. Preheat your oven to 450. Put just a smidge of marinara over the pita and place in the oven for about 2-3 minutes.

4. Take your pizza out and put a little more marinara and sprinkle your mozarella cheese. Place your thinly sliced tomato on top of this and sprinkle a little more cheese.

5. Add a few dallops of goat cheese. I literally barely added any at all… just enough to give it that hint of flavor.

6. Season this with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

7. Top everything off with a TON of spinach. {I am embarassed to tell you that I have finished off the XL Family Size of spinach in 4 days….)

8. Place in the oven for about 3-4 minutes. Meanwhile, add your broccoli slaw to the skillet with mushrooms and chicken sausage.

9. Take your pizza out and top it with MORE spinach (it wilts…) and then put the whole chicken sausage, mushroom and broccoli slaw mixture on top. Sprinkle this with a tiny bit of mozarella cheese and parmesan cheese.

10. Broil for 2 minutes.

11. Done! Time to enjoy your pizza!! 🙂

LoveMintChip Tip:

*I know some of you are worried about eating cheese to avoid gaining weight. Trust me when I tell you that cheese is SO good for you! It has so much staying power and protein… I was scared of cheese for years because I though it was so bad for you. But I promise this recipe doesn’t call for a lot of cheese… just a few sprinkles here and there 😉

*I served mine with a little side of pizza sauce on the side. I mixed salt, pepper and garlic powder with it for more flavor and heated in the microwave for 20 seconds.

Have a great weekend!!! Have you made any fun new recipes this week?!!! Share them with me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Recent Recipes

  1. Mmm, my mouth is watering over every single one of these recipes–especially that chicken sausage pizza! I LOVE cheese and don’t shy away from it in the least bit. It’s backed with protein and calcium; what’s not to love? 🙂

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend! Let me know if you want to get together sometime! xoxo

Leave a Reply

