WIAW: {Our Perfect Day}

Hey friends!!

Well… I am officially back! I left Saranac yesterday and got back late afternoon. I was going to do a post last night  but decided I would just incorporate it into WIAW.

I am going to do a 2 part post on my trip to see P because there is NO WAY I could fit it all into one post. It was the best 5 days EVER!!

Since it is WIAW, I am going to tell you all about our Saturday “surprise date day” because being the two foodies that we are, you know a lot of good eats were consumed.

Let’s back up to Friday afternoon when I finally got there. My flight was delayed, I got on the plane, down the runway, had to get back off, etc. etc. etc. It was a disaster and I was crying like a baby. I am sure everyone in the airport thought I had something severely wrong with me but I thought I was not going to be able to get there. I am a treat.

Fridays are P’s slower days (and let me tell you…. he is BUSY on the other days….) so it was nice because we got to walk around and just enjoy camp and spend a ton of time together. Saranac is one of my most favorite places on earth and it was so great to be back and see familiar faces and also meet the amazing other people he has been working with all summer.

Pineapple Coconut Smoothie for two

We had a delicious dinner + desert (if you have ever been to a Young Life camp… you know the food is incredible) and got to hang out for the rest of the night. I went out with the boys to wake surf and then P and I went out on the boat to look at the stars.

 I forget what the sky looks like here at night. P said it perfectly, “it is uncapturable”. Such a great night!

Saturday morning I was told to “be up at 8 am and wear your uniform.” Oh… my uniform is what P likes to call black lulu leggings, a big t-shirt, and tennis shoes. Normal. He also told me to pack something nice for dinner! Since Saturdays are his day off… we left camp for the day and our adventure began.


Breakfast:

I was greeted bright and early with a cup of coffee and then we hit the road to Lake Placid for breakfast. We went to this precious place called “The Breakfast Club.”

I had a greek yogurt bowl with homemade granola and fruit with a side blueberry pancake. I couldn’t pass up the maple syrup (it is super close to Canada so the syrup is to.die.for). He had some breakfast potatoes with ham and dippy eggs on top. It was such a good meal and I hope to come back.

Fitness:

In lieu with the theme of WIAW Fitness, we went to a place called the Flooms and climbed/ walked around. It was beautiful and SO much fun! We would climb, sit, talk, climb again, walk. I am not going to lie, this was a great little workout and we both worked up a pretty good sweat.

After we left here we drove to Whiteface Mountain , the 5th highest mountain in NY State and one of the High Peaks of the Adirondack Mountains. It was so cool! The view was really unbelievable. You could even see Montreal, Canada from a certain point. To get to the top, we climbed about a million flights of stairs… no, really. It may not be considered a work out to you, but I was definitely glad to get to the top 😉

Have you ever had a moment where your breath was taken away? That is how I felt at the top of the mountain. It was the most incredible thing I have ever seen. It reminded me of how lucky I am to have a God that created all of this just for us.

It would not be a day with Anne and P without just a little diva moment…..(or two)

Lunch:

After our adventures, we hopped back in the car and drove down the mountain a little bit to find a picnic table to eat our lunch. We picked up sandwiches at this precious place across from where we ate breakfast before we left.

Turkey for me and some kind of pulled pork for him! The view wasn’t all that bad either 😉

Afternoon:

We were both a little tired by this point and I had no idea what he had in store for us next. He wanted to take me to his favorite spot. So we drove back into the town of Saranac and walked to this gorgeous lake (another activity!!). It was behind a rail road track and it was honestly just so peaceful.

There was hardly anyone around us. We had a blanket and just laid there for a few hours, napped, talked and hung out.

Perfect, perfect way to spend the afternoon! If you can not tell by this post already… we are pretty much one of the most laid back couples together. We genuinely enjoy each other’s company so much and are happy just hanging out.

Dinner:

After a quick change we headed into Lake Placid (near where we ate breakfast) to the Dancing Bears restaurant. We actually had driven by this place earlier and I said, “Oh, that looks like such a fun place to eat!” Little did I know… that is where he had been planning to go.

We sat outside (the weather was amazing) on the patio. By this point we had both worked up a little appetite so we immediately ordered the homemade humus with pita.

For our entrees he had the ahi tuna sandwich with these incredible sweet potato fries… in case you are wondering.. of COURSE I helped him eat them.

I went with the grilled chicken pesto pizza with tomatoes and spinach… YUM! And a salad on the side for some greens.

Desert:

As if the day could get any better, we left dinner and went to Whiteface Lodge. This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever been to. We were seated next to a window and could see the Adirondacks and the sun set. It was beautiful!

I was SO full and said there was no way I could eat anything else. Oh… what?? My second stomach grew and I cleared my plate???? 😉

We started with decaf coffees and P ordered the chocolate mouse with fresh fruit. I had the brownie ice cream sandwich (typical). It was two brownie cookie with toffee ice cream in the middle surrounded with chocolate chips and homemade caramel sauce. WOW. Oh, and a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side.

Let’s just say I went to bed with such a full belly and a happy heart! We never get to be together for an entire day just us and it was absolutely incredible. We had so many great talks and it was so nice to finally catch up and just enjoy each other’s company. This was our perfect day.

Stay tuned for Part 2 of the rest of the weekend! I can not wait to tell you what else we did and how awesome of an EMT P is (no really… I think I loved him ten times more than I already do each time I saw him with a kid).

I have not had the healthiest of eats over the past few days or had a full on workout but let’s be real, all I really cared about was being with Parker and the last thing I was going to worry about was trying to eat super clean or sacrifice time with him to get my sweat on. It was worth every single bite of yummy food and more 🙂

Have a Happy Wednesday!! Eat something yummy for me!

22 thoughts on “WIAW: {Our Perfect Day}

  1. Such a cute post that reminds me so much of myself! I have cried hysterically numerous times in airports trying to fly out to visit Michael during college. When else does it snow 6 inches in DFW and close the airport but when I’m trying to fly out for Valentine’s weekend and 5 whole days with him in KY!…at the time, the world.was.over. I get it 🙂

  2. This post reminds me of when my husband and I were long distance dating for two years! We finished that in April and got married but before that our once a month weekend visits looked a lot like this! Lots of yummy eats and exploring. You guys look so happy together!

  3. I’m sorry you had a hard time at the airport, but glad your trip went well! The hike and the greek yogurt & granola both look amazing 🙂 And that dessert? SOOOOOO up my alley, brownie sandwiches need to happen in my future soon – thanks for the idea! I’d have ordered the same thing 🙂

  4. What a great time! I love spending the day outdoors…if our humidity would give us a break I would be on the trail every weekend.

    Btw, that pizza crust looked sooooo fluffy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

