Saranac with P: Part 2

Hello sweet friends!

Happy Friday! Anyone else pumped that it is the weekend?!! I am SUPER excited. I am going to a precious girl who I intern with beach house and am beyond excited to have the weekend to hang out with all my friends I have met at NBC outside of our “intern cave” as we like to call it.

When I last left  you on Wednesday… I promised another post about the second part of my trip to visit P.

On Sunday morning when I woke up I was SO sad. I couldn’t believe it was already time to go 😦

We headed to the kitchen to help out with breakfast and then I was off to the airport. I downed a stack of chocolate chip pancakes on the car ride there and even  that did not make me feel better!! He dropped me off and had to get going because Sundays are his busiest day. I was a complete basket case. Crying. No… SOBBING.

After waiting around for a few hours at the airport (my flight was delayed 3 times) the lady announced it was CANCELED. Oh.. more tears. I was so, so, so happy! Then she told me everything was booked until Tuesday!! FINE by me.

One of the sweet girl interns P works with came to get me and I was back at camp!  The whole day was a whirlwind and Parker was working like crazy. I just kinda hung out and tried to help him as much as possible.

Finally dinner rolled around and much to my surprise it was BIG COOKIE. Have you ever been to Young Life camp and know what big cookie is? It is the famous desert. A giant skillet cookie topped with ice cream and chocolate sauce. I don’t know what they put in this thing but it is crack. Happy Anne.

That night I got to see him in action with a few of the kids as the camp EMT. He is SO patient, calm and understanding. He must have seen this one girl 4 times in one day. I would have given her a tylenol PM and told her to go to sleep… (good thing I am not the one entering the medical profession)… but he just kept  talking her through things and never got his feathers ruffled.

Even in a pretty large emergency that happened Sunday night (don’t feel comfortable sharing) he was so calm. He will literally sit with a kid crying over  a stubbed toe for 20 minutes explaining to him why he feels the way he does and then will tell him to come back by later so he can check it out again. He remembers everyone’s name. Incredible. Sweetest thing I have ever seen ❤

He definitely has a gift and it was incredible to get to see it and be a part of it for a few days.

And apparently some of the high school girls who are working there for the month have been making up excuses to go visit him in the infirmary 😉 Haha.

On Monday he had to be up super early for a meeting so I went on a little run. Nothing special, just 2 miles but it felt good to move! It is really hard for me to run here because of my asthma with the super high altitude. The air is so thin!

We hung out in the infirmary for a good portion of the day (exciting!!) and then I helped out in the bakery that afternoon. It was so much fun! Before dinner P and I went on a short little boat ride around the lake. The weather was awesome. Nothing too special but just nice to be together. Saranac lake is so pretty gosh!!

Monday night after dinner he said he had a surprise… PARASAILING!! It was so much fun. I did this 2 summers ago but had forgotten how beautiful it is!



I was not ready to go on Tuesday morning but felt much better about leaving than I did on Sunday!

Needless to say it was the best 5 days of my summer and I am so happy I got to spend it with my best friend in the whole world!!! Sorry for the gooby quote but this explains us perfectly 🙂

And I think that is about it for today.

See you guys on Monday! Have an awesome weekend… any fun plans?!!!

16 thoughts on “Saranac with P: Part 2

  1. I’ve never been parasailing! How fun 🙂 You two are so cute together! And I used to cry like a baby everytime I’d leave my man while we were long distance dating. Glad you got to spend a few more days with him! Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. I always hated leaving my husband after an amazing weekend together before I eventually moved to NC with him. I truly do believe though that “Distance makes your relationship strong”…. and when you have your first kiss and hug after so many days/months apart, it’s such an amazing feeling!!

    I’m so happy for the both of you that your flight was cancelled and you had a little bit more time together ❤ Your parasailing pictures are beautiful!!

  3. Oh Anne, you’ve sure found a keeper! P sounds like an amazing guy; I loved reading about his interactions with the campers–how sweet! You two make quite a cute couple. 🙂

    The parasailing trip looks like it was so much fun! The pictures bring back memories from trips to Mexico and Hawaii (I almost fell our of the ropes in Hawaii!). :-p

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend, beautiful! xoxo

Leave a Reply

