Bye Bye Sushi Craving

Happy Tuesday!

Hope all of your Mondays were off to a marvelous start for the week! I had a really, really fun day exploring around DC with one of the other interns at NBC (more details to come soon!!).

Last night I was craving sushi. It seems like every time I eat sushi (I ate it Saturday night), I just keep craving it all week! However, my grandparents are coming this week and I know I will have plenty of yummy eats out so I decide to make something at home. I am also trying to clean out the freezer/ fridge since I have less than 2 weeks here. Gosh, this summer has FLOWN by!!

A few weeks ago I saw this recipe from the cutest Meg about a “deconstructed” sushi salad. I have some brown rice I need to eat up… So I took her idea and went with it 🙂 It turned out to be more of a salmon teryiaki than a deconstruced sushi salad because I realized I did not have really any of the right ingredients. I WILL be making this salad though… it looks amazing check it out!

But mine still turned out great and killed my sushi craving. Check and check.

***

Salmon Teryiaki

What you need:

Salmon

Brown rice

A bunch of Veggies (I used asparagus, mushrooms, onions and spinach)

Soy sauce and teryiaki sauce

How to:

1. Marinate the salmon and veggies for about 1 hour in teriyaki sauce (as much or as little as you want).

2. Cook brown rice according to package directions.

3. Sautee vegetables, set them aside when done.

4. Sautee salmon (about 5 min each side) and place on top of veggies when done!

5. Drizzle teryiaki + soy sauce over everything (if you want more).

6. Enjoy!

LoveMintChip tip: My veggies and rice got a little cold while waiting on the salmon to be cooked, so I popped it in the microwave for a minute right as the salmon was almost done (I HATE cold food!!).

***

As always, I hope you enjoy! Let me know if you try it. I would love to hear from you!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Bye Bye Sushi Craving

Leave a Reply

