foodie friday: {why we decided not to go paleo}

It’s Friday!

How pumped are you guys?! ME TOO!

I am so excited for this weekend. I honestly plan on doing nothing!! I am in the mood to just chill, hang out with my friends and be productive. I found this picture and unfortunately feel like it describes my life.

Haha moving on…

Today I wanted to talk to you guys a little bit about the paleo diet.What is it? Read this article for more!

I actually have been doing a ton of research on this and Parker and I have been going back and forth for the past few weeks on whether or not we wanted to try it out. I would NOT call this a diet. Diets do not go over well with this girl. Most people go paleo as a lifestyle change. I think it is awesome! It focuses on eating real, whole and natural foods. Some even call it a “caveman diet”.

If you know P and I, we are kinda all or nothing people. And we also love food. Like a lot. When we first started thinking about it, it sounded really appealing. There are definitely things we could both do to clean up our eating habits and thought this would be a great way to start.

WELL… the more we started thinking about it, the more we realized that it is actually very unrealistic especially while we are in college. The main thing that got both of us is the no grains and the no dairy.

For us, at the stage of life we are in right now, cutting out one or more entire food groups just does not make sense to us. For example, last night I went to a meeting that lasted until 9 pm  and there was free dinner and all they had was pizza. Well I was not going to not eat the pizza. It was my only choice for dinner and I was starving. I came home and ate my favorite KKG desert ever, caramel ice cream loaded with butter and sugar. This is in no way paleo!!!

I’m sorry but I LOVE a good bowl of wheat pasta, quinoa or a gigantic bowl of cereal. I love a piece of cheesy ooooooey gooey pizza or a turkey sandwich. I could live off of sushi with rice. I like cream in my coffee and I really like a gigantic bowl of ice cream or slice of chocolate cake. I am not about to spend my last year of college avoiding alcohol or the deserts at the Kappa house.

I think Gina does a fantastic job of explaining what we we feel are the pros and cons of the paleo diet in this post: Focus On: The Paleolithic Diet.

However, we did sit back and realize that a lot of our meals could be considered very paleo-ish. I find myself eating a piece of meat or fish with vegetables all the time. But I also find myself eating sweet potatoes ALL the time which are not considered paleo and I LOVE a sweet potato. In the mornings, I need a piece of toast with my eggs or an english muffin with my almond butter.

Maybe one day when we have our own kitchen and have more time to prepare and plan meals this would be awesome to try! For now I think we are just going to focus on cleaning up some of our eats and incorporating more paleo-ish style meals into our daily diets, but we definitely do not want to do this right now.

For those of you that are paleo, more power to you!! This is TOTALLY just my own personal opinion about it. I think it is AWESOME that you have this much will power. Send some our way?!! 😉

For all of you crossfit lovers, check out my article for The Daily Campus this week-Crossfit: a unique fitness program and the paleo diet. I also did a blog post for The Fit Mustang with a few of the paleo recipes I want to try- Paleo recipes.

Hope you enjoyed this post. Just something a little different to talk about?!

Have an amazing weekend!!

Question: What are your thoughts on paleo?!!!??

12 thoughts on “foodie friday: {why we decided not to go paleo}

  1. I feel all I read about now is Paleo… so many people are following it, but personally I couldn’t… I don’t eat meat and I know that’s a huge part of it, but also I’m with you I eat too many things that aren’t considered Paleo haha

  2. Great post Anne! I eat about 80 percent Paleo and I am the first person to admit that it is not for everyone! I even don’t eat Paleo all the time and I think it’s very important to honor what your body needs and not deny it any one food group altogether!

  3. Loved this post!!! I feel like I would need to eat every 5 seconds if I was paleo or else I would starve! …And I love my greek yogurt, cheese, peanut butter, and bagel thins 🙂

Leave a Reply

