wiaw: {my weekend at home eats + p’s birthday dinner}

Hi friends!

So you guys may remember that I went home this weekend!! It was amazing 🙂

This What I Ate Wednesdayis a little different than the usual… it is a little bit of my at home eats mixed in with P’s birthday dinner. I am SO proud of the dinner that I dedicated an entire post to it.

{Thanks Jenn for hosting this!}

wiaw

A quick weekend recap (sorry for the lack of food pictures… who am I?!):

Thursday night I met this little crazy person at the airport and we got to Jackson around 11 pm. P was coming to pick us up and Rebecca came with him to surprise us 🙂 We got home and I got to hang out with my favorite person (okay animal) ever for a little while and stayed up catching up with the fam.

Friday morning P and I went with my family to watch Becca perform in the pep rally! Is she really a senior?!?! We joined my grandparents for lunch at my favorite Keifers and then went on a 2 mile run with Gumbo!

We went to dinner with his parents and then to the football game to watch Rollins crown the new queen… CONGRATULATIONS LUCY!! Lucy has been one of Rebecca’s best friends for forever and we could not have been more excited for her on this special night!

Saturday I had breakfast with my bestie at Broad Street and then mom and I went dress shopping with my cousin who is also on the homecoming court at her high school in a few months!!

I spent the rest of the day cooking and preparing for P’s birthday dinner with my family.

Let’s talk about about this dinner. What was on the menu?!

1. Grilled salmon for me, mom and dad. I marinated the salmon in a baby drop of olive oil, salt and pepper. That’s it. It was amazing! P grilled (yes, he had to help with his birthday dinner haha) them for about 5-7 minutes. They turned out perfectly!

2. Filets for P, Becca and Ro. I used this recipe for the steaks and they turned out FANTASTIC. Full of flavor. I marinated them all day in some kind of special meat sauce and worchistier. They were perfect!

3. Grilled shrimp. Marinated in lemon juice, olive oil, lemon pepper and garlic salt. Grilled for about 2 minutes on each side.

4. Asparagus with roasted pine nuts. Dizzled in olive oil and roasted at about 400 degrees with a sprink;e

5. Mushroom quinoa. I used this recipe: Mushroom Quinoa Risotto. It was fanastic! I like having a carby side with dinner and quinoa is the only grain that is a complete source of protein and a really healthy complex carb. Healthy and delicious? I’ll take it!

4. Fresh Market french bread.

5. Salad with asiago cracked pepper dressing.

6. Chocolate fudge pie.

opening his gifts!

Modeling his new hat.

Sunday was a rainy, lazy day and I did not get out of my pjs until I was forced to go to the airport 😦

Diva HATES the rain

Did I mention we got fro yos the size of our head and I ate all of mine and all of his? It was a neat moment.

It was a perfect weekend at home. I was getting real homesick for my family and this was just what I needed! See you guys later this week!!!!

Have a YUMMY, FAB Wednesday!

Question: What are you eating today/ lately?!

12 thoughts on “wiaw: {my weekend at home eats + p’s birthday dinner}

  1. First, Happy Birthday to your boy! Your weekend sounds like it was such a great time. Glad you were able to spend time with your family.. and of course that froyo, mmm!! Why did you eat his though? didn’t he enjoy the amazingness? haha

Leave a Reply

