WIAW {StarkVegas Edition}

Good morning!! 🙂

Hope yall are having a fabulous week so far. Mine has been filled with, well not a lot!! Haha I seriously love being home and not having an agenda. I am sure that by this time next week I will be stir crazy to get to DC but for now I am happy as a peach 🙂

So when I left you all it was Mother’s Day… We had a great time celebrating THE BEST MOM IN THE WORLD!!

On Sunday afternoon Parker had to go up to Starkville to get a few things from his house and he wanted a change of scenery to study for a day so naturally even though I had to clear out my busy schedule 😉 I tagged along with him.

So… I decided for today’s WIAW I would do my eats over the past two days because they have been so yummy!! One of our favorite things to do together is eat and drink. I know that sounds weird but we love going to try new fun places, going to old favorites and cooking together.

As always, thanks Jenn for hosting this!!

Sunday night:

We left around 5:00 and before we got on the road, we went to a new fro-yo place near Parker’s house with his parents! Is this not the smallest most measly pitiful cup of fro yo since mine is usually overflowing from the top you have ever seen? I KNOW. But I knew we were going to dinner so I made this my first appetizer!

When we got there we unpacked and headed straight to The Veranda to eat! I love this little place. I have only been here for lunch but it was great for dinner too. Of course we started with drinks (red wine for me and beer for him) and spring rolls.

For my meal I ordered the Veranda Chicken and he had the Cajun pasta. Mine was delicious! A huge grilled chicken breast + plenty of veggies= a happy Anne. I tried to get both of our meals in one pic, it didn’t really work out haha.

Monday:

Monday morning I just had a giant yogurt mess and the picture looked so gross I was afraid you all would quit reading my blog if you saw it, so I spared you… your welcome!! While he studied I went walking with one of my best friends from high school, Lindsey! I love catching up with her and we always pick right back up where we left off. After our walk, I ran by Newks to grab us lunch and we ate outside so P could see the sun for the day haha.

Newks Q for him + ceaser salad and half of a Newks Club for me + a simply salad and we both had iced tea!

Enjoying his sandwich?

After lunch I lounged around and then went to the grocery to get stuff to cook that night! When I got back he was FINALLY done studying for the day so we went on a really short run. My knee is still killing me so I guess I am just going to have to keep resting it even though that is going to drive me crazy, I would rather it get better and in the meantime I will just have to get creative with my workouts.

I immediately showered and got in my PJS (yes, it was 6 pm) and we poured two glasses of wine and got to work on dinner!

I made baked portobello fries for an appetizer because they are his favorite. I just used sliced portobello mushrooms and toasted some whole wheat bread, blended those up for bread crumbs and mixed them with parmesan cheese parsley and salt and pepper. I whisked two eggs and dipped the portobello strips into the eggs and then the bread crumb mixture, baked them at 425 for about 15 minutes and served them with this Parmesan and black peppercorn dip that I found! I was so proud of myself. They were easy and really, really good!!

For dinner we used a Crispy Salmon with Creamy Basil Noodles recipe from Jessica at HowSweetEats and followed it almost exactly but added a few things to our liking. We will definitely be making this again! It was amazing and the salmon came out perfectly. I also roasted some asparagus (salt, pepper, olive oil) and dinner was served. It was SO. YUMMY. and we were stuffed.

My dinner!

P’s dinner

Tuesday:

Tuesday morning we were up pretty early to get on the road so he could get back home to study. On our way out, we went to City Bagel. This is my favorite place to eat breakfast ever!! I am not a huge bagel person but I love their bagels. I had a whole wheat bagel with egg whites + strawberry jelly + strawberry cream cheese and COFFEE.

P had their bacon, egg and cheese on some kind of bagel I can not remember.

But it was a good way to kick off Tuesday!! And even though we were only gone for less than 48 hours, and he studied the. entire. time. it was really nice to just be alone before he leaves next Monday and we do not see each other all summer 😦

When I got back to Jackson I had time to do a 10 minute workout. With my knee, I decided not to run and did a interval incline walk on the treadmill. Not bad for 10 minutes! I was rushing to get ready because we were taking family pictures because that is all my mom asked for for Mother’s Day.  It was really fun actually and no major knock down drag outs (a major accomplishment for 3 girls!!).

My eats for the rest of the day were the usual. Smoothie, banana + almond butter, almonds, etc. After pictures, we went to dinner at Papitos and all shared the chicken fajitas.

****

If you are still with me, I am sorry for talking your ear off about my life! I definitely had some great eats but ready to get back into my routine. I have definitely been eating like I am on vacation, but I am not going to worry about it or be too hard on myself.

Hope you all have a great Wednesday FILLED with yummy eats!

3 thoughts on “WIAW {StarkVegas Edition}

  1. You’re adorable!! All of your eats over the past two days look absolutely delicious. I’m definitely going to have to try making portobello fries—yum!

    When are you coming to DC?! If you need some tips on fun things to do or places to eat, let me know! ❤

  2. Pingback: WIAW {Where is my appetite?!} | Love Mint Chocolate Chip

Leave a comment